The people in charge of Netflix are currently testing a new notification for some users who obtain their active Netflix account through a family member or friend, but who do not live in the same household. The message states that the user must create their own account if they want to continue using the service and do not live in the household with the main owner. Users then have to enter a verification code, which is sent to the account owner's email address.

Once the password has been entered, users can access the Netflix catalog as usual. It remains to be seen whether the company will take even stricter measures in the near future. In any case, it is a further step towards preventing the popular password sharing. According to the Netflix Terms of Use, this is only allowed with members of your own household. According to a statement by a Netflix spokesman, this test is initially a measure so that only those users who have been authorized to access the account of a paying subscriber get access to it.

03:50
Netflix: Trailer with the program highlights in March 2021

So far, Netflix has limited password sharing by limiting the simultaneous use of an account. With the standard subscription for 7.99 euros, only one person can watch a film or series. With Netflix's premium offer for 17.99 euros, four people can use the main owner's account at the same time.

Source: CNBC

Advertisement: Netflix order now from Amazon

(*) We have marked affiliate links with an asterisk. We receive a small commission for a purchase via our link and can thus partially finance the website, which can be used free of charge, with this income. There are no costs for the user.